tis the season…well, almost

Spring training!

I was talking on the phone with Pamela, a friend of my late sister. Pam’s become a good friend of mine. I met her almost twenty years ago, but didn’t know then that she was a Yankees fan. And not a casual Yankee fan, either. I don’t think that’s possible if one lives in Arizona like Pam does. That takes dedication. And probably a good MLB cable package…I don’t think they broadcast Yankee games on the radio out there. That’s actually the way I like to take in the games, has been since I was a girl. Unless I’m at the stadium, of course, with my trusty binoculars.

I’ve never met a female Yankee fan, outside of the stadium. Well, aside from my mom. Sure, rattling off stats and trading strategies for fantasy baseball is a surefire way to impress some guys. But only with a female fan can one compare physiques and hairstyles and make wishlists of hot players we want the Yanks to draft (Barry Zito is on the top of both of our lists). And it is only at the stadium, really, that one can truly appreciate just how fab those bodies are. Just make sure the binoculars are with you. Pentyne will vouch for that.

I have missed the spring training games so far, but Pam was on top of things and gave me the lowdown. Between that and the New York papers, I’m set. But I still can’t comfortably make any predictions. I feel ambivalent, the same as last year. The pitching staff is really only older, and still shaky in the last two rotation slots. Arod is still speaking wistfully of the good old days with Jeter, before he’d insulted him in a national publication and things got frosty. Worse than that, he speaking even more wistfully of the good old days with former manager Lou Piniella, which is disrespectful to his current manager Joe Torre and only invites speculation that he either wants to be traded to the Cubs, or let out of his contract so he can reunite with Sweet Lou. Like we need that kind of distraction.  I think as long as he’s a Yankee, he should just STFU and play. Can you tell I’m not an Arod fan? I’ve just never felt the Yankees needed him, never understood why they traded a young Alfonso Soriano, a player with power, speed, and charisma for the white elephant that is Arod. It’s possible that he’s the best player that ever played the game, yes. But I don’t think his aquisition makes a difference, in fact, I don’t think Arod has been the difference on any of his teams since he played for Seattle. On the Yankees, he’s just another player, and I feel comfortable saying that just another player, some other player of lesser calibre and with less baggage and insecurities than Arod, would be a better fit over at third base on the New York Yankees. A player like Scott Brosius was before him.

My only other preseason thought is directed at the will-he-or-won’t-he-sign situtation with Roger Clemens. Please let both parties; the over eager front office, and the big guy, pass. Let him go to the Sox. I think deep down, he wants to go back anyway. We need a young fireballer, and baseball could use the kind of feel good story a Clemens/Bosox reunion creates to offset the ongoing Barry Bonds/Balco drama. It’s going be a long season.

5 Responses to “tis the season…well, almost”


  1. 1 Bets March 8, 2007 at 5:40 am

    I, who know diddly-squat about Major League Anything know who the Arod is and I don’t like him either.
    I love it when you get on your baseball soap box. It makes me feel close to my dear dad Beano.
    I played softball for 13 years straight… I do like the game. 1st base. I’d play on a co-ed league now if the games didn’t vary between 6 o’clock and 10 o’clock start times. I’m a pumpkin after about 8:30. LYLAS.

  2. 2 Bets March 8, 2007 at 5:42 am

    the time stamp seems to be off… it’s 7:40 p.m. not 5:42 a.m.
    p.s. please forgive the grammatical error in the first sentence. ouch. wish I could edit it.

  3. 3 Bets March 8, 2007 at 5:48 am

    Ok. this is the last reply I’ll post. Just all this talk about baseball has me thinking about Bean. He had an impressive collection of the good, fitted, baseball caps, that is before they were taken one of the times their house was broken into. (The same break in when my mom’s collection of bicentennial quarters were taken. She agonized over the fact that they were most likely at the bottom of a “stupid video game” by now..) Anyway, Bean’s collection of wool, 7 5/8ths inch caps… caps he only had if he’s been to the Stadium himself to purchase, were taken. How do you replace a collection like that? I wonder how many he’s been able to replace.

  4. 5 petitmuse March 8, 2007 at 6:54 am

    wool caps! wow.

    I lost my cap sometime during the move. I wore it throughout my pregnancy. I still have my batting practice jersey and a very ratty old number 51 Bernie Williams t-shirt that I refuse to part with.

    Oddly enough, I never played softball or baseball formally. But there were plenty of backyard games, with both of my parents playing with us. One of my most cherished memories is the game I watched with my father the day before he died, just the two of us.


Leave a Reply

