About me

I have noticed new visitors linking in from my other blog and would like to take the opportunity to introduce myself to new readers. So, a little about me:

I am a 41 year old mom of one incredible daughter, who is the light of my life. We live together in New England with her dad, my significant other, who is a very private man and hence is often an unmentioned presence in my life.

I am also an artist who plays with mixed media, digital art, and photography. Before having the kiddo, I was trained in graphic design and photography. I went on to work for a couple of years at a newspaper, starting out in graphic design, and later picking up spot photography and feature writing.

I love pretty things. There’s quite a few of them cited here. Check them out under the pretty-pretties tag.

I’m a rather rabid baseball fan, though I try to tone it down here. Spring training has just begun. Go Yanks!

I like to read. Voraciously, when I get a chance. My favorite genre is magical realism, which includes the writers Salman Rushdie, Isabelle Allende, Arundhati Roy, and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I also like poetry. Dylan Thomas, e.e. Cummings, Anne Sexton, T.S. Eliot, and Walt Whitman, among others, move me.

I love animals and nature…especially kitties, dogs, owls, seals, and llamas.

I have five brothers and sisters. In my recent past, I lost a dear and beautiful sister. It’s hard.

Lastly, I don’t write about any one thing in particular. Randomness is my muse. The title of the blog has come about from my recent embrace of many things French, and my enduring love of the small, hushed things in life, things that often go unnoticed. I love little things. Delicate things. Especially since having my own sweet little thing.

Enjoy, and please stay.

1 Response to “About me”


  1. 1 doktorholocaust February 20, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    I dunno if i’m a Redsox fan anymore or not. I was because I was dating a Bostonian for a while, then I wasn’t, and before then I never really cared about sports other than vaguely rooting for any team from Pittsburgh since my family is from that region.

    I DO miss new england, though. not driving in it, just… i like it there. I went to Edward Gorey’s house, now a museum, on Cape Cod, and I just fell in love with it. I wanted to live there, to work there, to curl up on the floor amidst the displays of his glass-bottle collections and fur coats and never get up.


Leave a Reply

