I’m in love

and that’s why I’ve been neglectful here. I finally jumped on the Netflix train. Every night, a new fling. Finally, I get to commune with elusive flicks I’d persued hopelessly for years, like the Francis Bacon biopic Love is the Devil, the Andy Goldsworthy documentary Rivers and Tides, the silent masterpiece The Passion of Joan of Arc, and countless foreign and concert films not found even in my library system. And I don’t even have to leave the house. They come to me. Excellent.

I saw Jesus Camp the other night. There’s alot that one could say about this, and then not. Because most of what they are doing is what this country was built on, as far as freedom as religion goes. Whether I agree with it, or not. I’d just like to see a religious movement that doesn’t instill fear and hate as the driving force behind desired change.

But I haven’t just been lounging around with my movies and bonbons, no. The kiddo and I have been hard at work on some mixed media collages and assemblages. And I’ve been crocheting along in front of the tv while watching my flicks. I found this cool book by the Stitch N Bitch Nation Author, Deb Stoller, titled….The Happy Hooker. You know when you pick up a title like that that you’re not going to be making toilet roll covers and tea cozies. I found the niftiest corset belt in there and want one in every color I can get my hands on.

I kind of hesitate to tell people I crochet because of those visions of tacky afghans and kleenex box covers. I actually used to knit before it was trendy. Right about when it became trendy, I got nasty carpal tunnel symptoms which coincided with arrival of the kiddo. I love the sculptural relief work of Aran knitting, with the twisting cables and bobbles. It was fun. But once you get past the typical dustcatchers that give crochet a bad name (what is it with crocheters and the need to cover everything in the house with it????), crochet is actually very feminine, very sexy.

So, toodle-oo, just wanted to let y’all know I’m still around. I’m off to an Ebay auction. More on that later.

Have a nice day.

8 Responses to “I’m in love”


  1. 1 doktorholocaust January 31, 2007 at 8:06 am

    I rarely go for biopics, except Wilde, with stephen fry in the title role. i swear, he is the ultimate reinacarnation of the world’s greatest playwright (yes, I hold Oscar Wilde in greater esteem than shakespeare).

    as for religions promoting fear and hate… it’s not the actual religion that does that. it’s the people in it – churches have long been a safe haven for bigots of every stripe, who cry “freedom of religion!” whenever anyone asks them to stop being such an asshole. the churches do nothing because the bigots are big contributors, then the bigots scare off the decent people who just want to express their faith by perverting the religious institution into something a decent person can’t tolerate.

    as for these people doing what america was built on, I have a couple good HP Lovecraft quotes on that:

    “Bunch together a group of people deliberately chosen for strong religious feelings, and you have a practical guarantee of dark morbidities expressed in crime, perversion, and insanity.” – H.P. Lovecraft, In a letter to Robert E. Howard, October 4 1930

    “If religion were true, its followers would not try to bludgeon their young into an artificial conformity; but would merely insist on their unbending quest for truth, irrespective of artificial backgrounds or practical consequences. With such an honest and inflexible openness to evidence, they could not fail to receive any real truth which might be manifesting itself around them. The fact that religionists do not follow this honourable course, but cheat at their game by invoking juvenile quasi-hypnosis, is enough to destroy their pretensions in my eyes even if their absurdity were not manifest in every other direction.” – H.P. Lovecraft, In a letter to Maurice W. Moe, August 3 1931

    and a nice quote from Philip K Dick, which is viewable in the comments over on http://somanybooksblog.com/2007/01/30/a-genealogy-of-gods/
    where I used it in reference to Greek gods. it applies to christianity too, though.

  2. 2 petitmuse January 31, 2007 at 8:42 am

    actually, that last quote could be applied to education too. don’t even get me started….

  3. 3 doktorholocaust January 31, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    agreed. You see why HP Lovecraft is my most frequently invoked short duration personal savior? the man Knew things.

    I suppose the question, then, becomes “How do we educate kids without bludgeoning them with some kind of cultural indoctrination?” To which I normally answer “Pink Lasers!” going back to the VALIS issue and raising entirely new questions about whether or not it’s ethically okay to beam information directly into people’s heads.

    To that, I usually respond “ask any major cable network.”

  4. 4 petitmuse January 31, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    I’ll have to look him up. What I’d most like to see in education is more independent thinking. Creative thinking (and I’m not talking about art here). Critical thinking. Etc.
    I had no use for Shakespeare until I started seeing the plays performed…they really have to be heard to be appreciated. Especially the comedies. That said, Wilde is underappreciated and too often dismissed as a perverted dandy.

  5. 5 doktorholocaust February 1, 2007 at 8:02 am

    it was the perverted dandyism that drew me to wilde, and then i realized that underneath all that style he really had some substance, and I fell in fanboy-love.

    See, i got lots of creative/critical thinking, but not until college when I threw money at people to teach me about literature. primary and secondary education seemed more like mass daycare, some sort of holding pen for children and teens meant to keep them from roaming unsupervised for as much of the day as possible.

    I’m sure they’d LIKE To teach creative and critical thinking, but then parents who disapprove of that kind of thing (like the kind that prefer brainwashed near-zombified children) raise a fuss about the school trying to raise their kids for them.

    then there are the OTHER parents, the ones who think it IS the school’s responsibility to raise, brainwaish, and educate their kids, who throw a fit when the school doesn’t teach kids how to think. So it puts educators in a serious bind.

    It would help if there weren’t large factions acting in American culture that are anti-thinking, pro-brainwashing, anti-creativity, etc. but have faith. there are comic book stores and internets full of deviants, misfits, and analytical thinkers to give the average public-school-educated kid a decent chance of developing their brain to a suitable degree. It worked for me!

  6. 6 petitmuse February 1, 2007 at 8:20 am

    yes, he definitely had style, but was a shrewd observer of human nature. and knew how to have fun.

    i have unfortunately met too many parents who think it’s the school system’s job to do everything :

  7. 7 doktorholocaust February 3, 2007 at 6:53 am

    I think the problem is that a large portion of the parenting population wanted to Have kids for whatever reason, but not necessarily do the work to Raise them. I know my dad’s mom always treated Shorty Holocaust and I like fashion accessories – showing us off to her co-workers at the insurance office, lying about how close we were (she hardly ever spoke to us) and then chasing us off.

    Shorty and I, unaccustomed to being objectified in this fashion (relatives on mom’s side would stuff us full of good food and ask us about our lives), would then go out to the car and make fun of her perm. last I heard, even Pa Holocaust, my great yeti progenitor, wasn’t too fond of his mom.

    Anyway, i think it’s people like this, who want the prestige and respect of being a parent without doing the work to earn it, who cause the problems. I think there should be a service to help them, some kind of Rent-a-kid place, that does thorough background checks and everything and arranged jobs for child-actors who are between gigs, to go and pretend to be someone’s kid for a while in exchange for a sizeable hunk of money.

    then we train the little thespians to be assassins, and gradually remove these kids-as-fashion-acccesory people from the gene pool.

  8. 8 petitmuse February 3, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Wierd and bad relatives are the great equalizer…everyone has them!

    I was never an accessory, but to this day I don’t like to be photographed because of all of the stupid, fake photograph sessions my mother inflicted on me. They’re nice to look at now, but were a nightmare back then.

    I think too many parents have kids before they are ready to commit. And of course there are some that are unfit, period. Etc, etc.


Leave a Reply

