so

I finally got to see Little Miss Sunshine last night. I miss going to the movies. Except for the stoopid people who don’t know when to stfu. As much as it’s nice to watch from the comfort of my bed, all snuggled up between flannel sheets, I feel really late to the party when it comes to current movies. Anyway, this was a cute little movie, especially the ending. Frank was probably my favorite character…doesn’t Steve Carrell look like he should be a permanent fixture in Wes Anderson’s movies? Toni Collette plays the most realistic moms…I’d want her to be my own mom…but I’d like to see her in roles more challenging…she’s underrated.

I’m not really into awards and contests and all that jazz…and I haven’t seen The Last King of Scotland…but I’d still like to see Forrest Whitaker take best actor tonight at the Golden Globes…not for the trophy, but to see him maybe get a standing O. He’s a treasure. I’d watch him in anything and I love him for making Ghost Dog, one of my favorite flicks ever.

2 Responses to “so”


  1. 1 doktorholocaust January 16, 2007 at 1:41 am

    I loved all the characters in that movie, probably Frank and grandpa more than others. they were the most damaged of the characters, but they were also the characters that brought the rest of it together. Grandpa was the only one with the cranky-old-man sense of humor that could efectively destroy a creepy children’s beauty pageant, and Frank was the first one Dwayne could relate to enough to feel like part of the family.

  2. 2 petitmuse January 16, 2007 at 3:02 am

    yeah, I felt that her routine was composed as a joke by Grandpa on the beauty pageant, and the hypocrisy of it all. Frank cast this subtle humanity and sensitivity onto the whole situation. And it was funny watching him run.


Leave a Reply

