wierdo meme

List 9 weird things that I do. I had to dig deep for this, can you believe it?

  1. I sniff my food before taking a bite. I don’t even realize I’m doing it most of the time. And I really can’t tell you why, because I don’t know.
  2. I have an aversion to the telephone. Mostly to answering it.
  3. I personally think this is wierd. Not psycho wierd or anything. I just don’t understand it. But uh, I actually think Ashton Kutcher, Demi Moore’s young husband, is very cute. So not my type. And not in my top ten, mind. But every time I catch a glimpse of him in That Seventies Show…I think, godaaayum, that boy is hawt.
  4. I don’t think it’s wierd, but my former roommate Felix did…I like to put on some perfume before I retire each night. No matter what. It helps me sleep better.
  5. Like my mother before me, whenever I’m upset or overwhelmed, I like to take my trusty vacuum out for a waltz around the room. The sound drowns out everything and erases my emotions for awhile.
  6. I can’t drink a glass of milk without ice in it.
  7. This is sort of a former wierdo thing. But it made sense at the time. I had to cover my hand with the cuff of my sleeve whenever I touched anything in NYC’s subways. Yes, I was one of those people. I used to snicker at the idea, but there I was years later, freaking out in the dimly lit subway train, inhaling cautious breaths ever-so-shallowly whenever someone sneezed or coughed, while desperately clenching the cuff of my army jacket as I tried to hold on to the strap overhead. I never carried a hanky to wipe anything down…it never got that bad. Just the thought of those heavily populated subways, teeming with bacterias, fungis, airborne viruses, and…whatever else… thoroughly squicked me out.
  8. I can’t eat eggs and chicken at the same meal without feeling queasy. Something about it just seems wrong.
  9. I hoard sweaters. Just seeing them, stacked and color coordinated, makes me feel very secure and safe.

I am a bit…deflated by this. I mean, I expected things more…hardcore out of me. One certainly doesn’t wish to be psycho-wierd, but at this age, hell, beyond, I expected some more emphatically eccentric and even curmudgeonly traits to emerge. This is not looking good. I have dreams of being some legendary old curmudgeon in my golden years. I have my work cut out for me. Cuz I’ll tell you one thing…I’m not going to be–and bless them, really–one of those sweet old ladies; the kind with a big fat purse at her side stuffed to the brim with extra Kleenex and mints and cough drops to dispense to any poor soul. No sirreeeee. I want to be…something else. And forget about being an old  cat lady either, though I adore felines. Too much of a cliche, for one thing. And these things don’t pan out to well for the cats…I’ve read too many stories of cats numbering the hundreds having to be removed from a home because things got out of hand and the poor kitties ended up being neglected. And if not the cats, what about me? What if, due to my untimely demise, the poor hungry kitties got desperate and starting nibbling on my undiscovered corpse? It’s not as though those paws can just dial up 911, y’know.
This is seriously tongue in cheek, if you haven’t guessed by now. But truly I do hold eccentrics in the highest of esteem. I love and respect those unique and precious souls who march to their own inner rythym and carve out on the crazy diamond of humanity, their own unique facet.

4 Responses to “wierdo meme”


  1. 1 Bets January 9, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Hugh Grant, blimey.

  2. 2 petitmuse January 9, 2007 at 1:45 am

    haha! i can definitely see you with him. me, notsomuch.

  3. 3 doktorholocaust January 9, 2007 at 10:45 am

    what about chicken noodle soup? the broth is made from chicken-juices, and the noodles have eggs in them.

    stealing this meme!

  4. 4 petitmuse January 9, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    chicken soup is good with rice :>


Leave a Reply

