the sugar cookie gods

Recently, my mother and I had a rare conversation about cooking. She was miffed because I’d chosen to make cupcakes from scratch and not from a box, or better yet, the store bakery. This is the woman who worships at the altar of Freihoffer. “Why do you have to do everything the hard way?”. The hard way being, cooking from scratch when I make just about everything instead of running to her good friends Lipton, Freezer Queen, Banquet, and so many others. I could literally here her head shaking on the phone. Guess she’s never had the benefit of a homemade cake. I was never really allowed in the kitchen. Things just taste so much better, so much fresher, from scratch. Not to mention that I know what’s in my food. Always a good thing.

But I almost ran to the Pillsbury gods this week myself, until I found yet another christmas cookie recipe. It’s taken me a good fifteen years, but I’ve finally, finally made a sugar cookie that does not taste like cardboard. The sugar cookie gods have at last smiled upon me. And they’re kiddo approved…yay!

I’m still a little deflated today because the only thing I really wanted for Christmas for myself…this….is out of stock. Everywhere. Who knew so many people have birds on the brain? Oh well.

Aren’t these sock monkey sheets by Nick and Nora cute???? I got the kiddo a pair of pajamas in that pattern but in pink.

2 Responses to “the sugar cookie gods”


  1. 1 Betty Lou January 2, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    http://www.andrewsmcmeel.com/products/?isbn=0740760122

    Maybe this is a close replacement to the birdie one? I’ve been keeping my eye out for it.
    xo

  2. 2 petitmuse January 2, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    you are so. very. sweet.


Leave a Reply

