growing up…

Kiddo: Ooooooooh, celery! I want it!

Moi: No, sweetie, that’s not celery. This is bamboo. It’s a houseplant. We have to be nice to houseplants. Houseplants are pretty. Houseplants clean the air.

PAUSE. Does she even know what air is? How do I explain the concept of air to her?

Kiddo: OH! Just like the rainforest!

Moi: *gasp* yes, pet. Just like that.

I just made the world’s ugliest hamburgers tonight. The kiddo, bless her, tried a token bite anyway. They were actually good. Just lacking in form. I refuse to handle the hamburger very much except for a couple of gentle pats for shaping. Anything more and the texture is ruined. Well, if you like crumbly burgers. I do. Tonight’s were just extra, extra crumbly. I can’t eat preformed burgers from the supermarket…they’re always chewy and rubbery because they pack them down so densely. Why do they do that? There is a place in town here that makes small, dainty burgers that are full of flavor and yes, crumbly, served on an English muffin with carmelized onions. Try them that way if you haven’t. Delicious.

The kiddo has called me….Mom….a couple of times recently. Not Mama. Not even mommy. MOM. I don’t like it. She sounds so casual, like a teenager when she says it. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to it. But if she won’t eat unless I spoonfeed her like tonight, I guess she’s still my baby.

There’s something about old wooden toys that makes me warm and melty inside. Isn’t this cute? Now who’s a kiddo?

5 Responses to “growing up…”


  1. 1 Betty Lou December 14, 2006 at 4:32 pm

    A touch-less hamburger recipe
    (that’s yummy to boot!)

    Open face in the broiler. Take a bun and spread hamburger on with a butter knife. I use approx. 2 or 3 T. for each burger. Push it in a bit so it sticks together. Spread to the edges.
    I sprinkle a little worcestershire sauce on top & pop it in the broiler. Top with cheese the last 30-60 seconds. The hamburger is about 1/4″ thick so it cooks up quickly! Easy and yummy.

  2. 2 Betty Lou December 14, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    P.S.
    I won’t touch hamburger either. If I make patties I put my hands in plastic baggies. 🙂 It works.

  3. 3 petitmuse December 14, 2006 at 4:50 pm

    sounds really yummy. aren’t they good with a little paste of minced garlic and worcestshire sauce?

  4. 4 doktorholocaust January 10, 2007 at 2:40 am

    when i moved into my own apartment, my former-roomies gave me some assorted frozen stuff, so my freezer wouldn’t be emtpy. this included a packet of preformed burgers with soy-stuff in them. they were grey in the freezer and became an entirely different shade of grey when I cooked them, and would apparently cook on the outside but wind up all runny in the middle. For a week I thought i had food poisoning.

    I threw those things out.

    now i get ground turkey, a meat i have worked wtih and can trust, and make my own ground-meat-burger-things, called Overmanwich because it is manwich wich sauteed onions and peppers and pickled jalapenos mixed in with the meat. a superior sandwich if there ever was one, and just as tasy cold the next day for breakfast.

  5. 5 petitmuse January 10, 2007 at 2:43 am

    those sound good. mmm, jalapenos…


Leave a Reply

