christmas meme

the pic on the left is last year’s tree. Still no snow here. So, no tree here yet.

Egg nog or hot chocolate?
Hot chocolate with a shot of Frangelico. Buttery goodness.

Does Santa Claus wrap presents or just set them under the tree?
Santa Claus wraps. Santa Claus enjoys wrapping presents. Especially folding the paper and decking it with some nice, pretty, dangling thingie. Santa also loves to watch the presents being unwrapped, though Santa is somewhat miffed and at the same time impressed by how delicately, how verrrrry carefully, the kiddo unwraps her gifts. But then, Santa also once let 30 kids go absolutely wild and rip and shred 6 large trash bags of newspaper in a big room for a paper mache project as colleagues looked on in disbelief. Santa believes in sensory experiences.
Coloured lights on tree/house or white?
white on the big tree, colored here and there around the house on little trees and garlands.
Do you hang mistletoe?
nope.
When do you put up your decorations?
I came up with this bright idea that it would be a tradition, every first weekend in December, that the tree would go up. But then it just seemed like an obligation. I put it up whenever the mood strikes. Usually snow is required.

What’s your favourite Christmas dish?
I love a good roast beef with au jus or gravy.

Favourite Christmas memory as a child?
my favorite memory is of my grandfather, who would give each grandchild a big bag of unshelled nuts, fruits and candy. It smelled so good and it was fun cracking the nuts. I also loved his Christmas paintings on the windows around town. He was truly a Santa Claus.

When and how did you learn the truth about Santa Claus?
Grr. I think I first heard rumors on the school bus, and then my mother got mad once and snapped that there wasn’t a Santa Claus. Meanie.

Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?
Not now. Though when I was a teenager, it was allowed after church. I prefer Christmas day.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree?
First, lots and lots of mostly vintage glass balls. I can’t pass them by when I see them…some I’ve even rescued on the side of the road. They have a nice patina and reflect the lights nicely. There are alot of homemade ornaments, crocheted snowflakes, and straw ornaments. I love stars. Large vintage sparkly brooches look great hung from a hook or a wire loop. Birds. Sprays of flowers. Baskets of artificial berries, fruit, or mossy stuff. Always long, iridescent icicles. The kiddo tucks some stuffed animals in here and there. And then there are the wonderful ornaments that my siblings and I exchange every year.

Snow! Love it or dread it?
I like snow. so pretty. My hometown is a snowbelt. But come February, I usually have had my fill.

Can you ice skate?
I will find out this season. The kiddo and I are going. I used to skate when I was younger.

Do you remember your favourite gift?
Probably the little bake oven I begged for for 3 consecutive years.

What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?
Being with the kiddo and enjoying a good meal and the festivities. Relaxing.

What’s your favourite Christmas dessert?
Very simple. Sugar cookies with lots of creamy icing and little sprinkles or those edible silver balls on top.

What’s your favourite Christmas tradition?
Just decorating the tree together. It takes a long time and it’s fun and relaxing and magical.

What tops your tree?
Last year I had an elf perching on top. Sometimes I put a group of birds around the top.

Which do you prefer: giving or receiving?
Giving. I never really want anything.
What’s your favourite Christmas song?
Even though I’m not a Christian, I am wierd and like listening to choirs singing like angels….those really lofty celestial notes are wondrous. The voice is an amazing instrument. The songs usually celebrate birth, peace, goodwill, and so on…good things to celebrate no matter what your religion.

2 Responses to “christmas meme”


  1. 1 Puppycup December 11, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    You always put together such a stunning tree =) The things you think to add to a tree never cease to surprise me–and they always look like they just belong there! Ah the eye of an artist!
    I’m kind of bummed about the no snow thing too…I could use like a good 4-5″ so it would feel like Christmas was right around the corner. Guess we’ll have to keep dreaming of a white christmas until then =) Kiss the kiddo for me, and don’t forget to post a pic of her with Santa!

  2. 2 petitmuse December 11, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    thanks sweetie. yours always, always looks beautiful…and with colored lights. ah, we learned from the master ;>


Leave a Reply

