not exactly an afterglow…

more like relief that the House, at least, and possibly the Senate, are in the Dem’s hands and checks and balances have a fighting chance. I’m hoping that the Dems will start asserting themselves in a stronger manner than they have and actually walk the walk. As for the big Connecticut Senate race, I don’t feel excited there either, just oddly empty. No matter what Leiberman says about not being beholden to the Elephants, it’s hard not to wonder when he took so much money from them and was indeed a rubber stamp for W. I think he has actually conveniently crafted an out by touting independence and “bipartisianship” whenever he votes against his constituency. I’m unimpressed. Now  he just skeeves me.

But this race has left me lukewarm from the start. I couldn’t stand Leiberman, but it was tough to get behind a millionaire from Greenwich, CT who ran his candidacy on one heavy note, however popular antiwar sentiments are right now. I wished instead for a candidate more strident and progressive on domestic issues like healthcare and the environment, etc. I’m not familiar with the political scene in Connecticut even after seven years and can’t think of anyone specific in mind, but still it seems like an opportunity lost with Leiberman as vulnerable as he was at one point.

And that is pretty much all I have to say about this. See you later.

3 Responses to “not exactly an afterglow…”


  1. 1 Kevin November 8, 2006 at 4:25 pm

    How can you knock Lieberman? Your party character assassinated him and knocked him off the ballot – he came back and shoved it in your face. Just as he should have. And you should recognize the fact that he trumped your ignorance and respect it.

  2. 2 petitmuse November 8, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    I think they just called him out for betraying the party that voted him in and even supported a run on the vp ticket. He’s a smarmy opportunist that can be bought for the right price or position.

  3. 3 Betty Lou November 8, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    I’m with petitmuse on this one. I was hoping to say good riddance to the man. He’s a wolly.


Leave a Reply

