hoot

I just found out that the nature center nearby is in need of volunteers to help take care of its raptors :> These birds include an eagle, hawks, a vulture, and several kinds of owls. They’ve come to the program through injury, usually from car accidents, some even missing a wing.

How freaking cool would it be to work with owls?? Ok, I may just be showing my geeky side. One of my prized possessions is an encased shadowbox of a three dimensional paper cut owl  perched on a birch tree limb. Found on Ebay, natch. A woman in Florida was parting with her owl collection. Not that I collect owls. Yet.

I’ve read about them and I’m surprised to find so many negative connotations across the board culturally regarding them. They really are an important part of the balance of nature. I find them to be majestic, mysterious, and beautiful…especially the snowy owl and the barn owl. The babies are just too cute for this world…wispy and fuzzy, but wise looking.

I’m doing it. I’m going to be an owl caretaker. :>

0 Responses to “hoot”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

