the lazaraus doll

Clementine:  Sometimes I think people don’t understand how lonely it is to be a kid, like you don’t matter. So, I’m eight, and I have these toys, these dolls. My favorite is this ugly girl doll who I call Clementine, and I keep yelling at her, “You can’t be ugly! Be pretty!” It’s weird, like if I can transform her, I would magically change, too.The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

I love that scene. Yeah, I had such a doll. Mrs. Beasley. The doll with the kaleidescope eyes. She was the only doll I bothered with. She and I were baaaad. One time, we pretended she was dead and  magically resurrected back to life (with an appropriate ceremony and flourish) by the power of my sister T’s touch (oooooh, a miracle!) after I’d pissed T. off. It worked. I was back in the good graces of T.

Of course, I managed to piss her off again, many times. So much for the transformative power of faux-miracles.

0 Responses to “the lazaraus doll”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

